Since 2004, the IMGA has been at the forefront of the mobile gaming industry and has become the most prestigious international competition for mobile games. The IMGA is calling all developers and studios from around the world to submit their games.

The 10th IMGA

The Annual Awards Ceremony will be held in San Francisco as part of a one day event including pitching sessions, reception, ceremony, and party. If you want to participate as a developer this year, here are a few things you need to know:

Games can be nominated if released after January 1st, 2013 or are yet to be published. The IMGA has not defined any categories. Participants can specify their own category. As for the winners, the jury will define the denomination of the prizes, with the exception of the Grand Prix (overall winner) and the Public Choice Award. The full list of prizes will be announced on February 10.

Developers will get the chance to apply to participate in the ‘pitching session’ just before the awards ceremony on March 18 in San Francisco. This will give developers the chance to get feedback from journalists and leading publishers.

As of today, developers can submit their game online at and compete in an international arena with top studios and individual developers from all over the world. Entries close on January 16th, 2014.

5 facts about the IMGA

1. The IMGA is celebrating its 10th anniversary. Lots of things have changed! In 2004 games were made for phones with a resolution 176 x 220 pixels and they had to be below 1 MB in size. Now games are running on devices with 2,048 x 1,536 pixels and many games are heavier than 1 GB.

2. The first IMGA had 85 entrants and it took only half a day to judge them. Now, more than 800 entries are expected and 15 judges will begin pre-judging three weeks before the actual 2-day judging session in France.

3. In 2004, 70% of the entries came from Europe and some from the US. Today they are coming in from 64 countries, equally divided between the Americas, Europe, Asia and the rest of the world. Entries from South America, the Middle East and Africa are on the rise. The IMGA has judged close to 3000 games over the last 10 years.

4. The IMGA has always been platform agnostic. Games have been accepted and judged which are made on iOS, Android, N-Gage, J2ME, Symbian, Bada, Windows Mobile, Brew, Flash Lite, Adobe Air, Blackberry OS, S40, Tizen, WebOS, Meego, Maemo, Asha, and LiMO. Entrants even used to send a phone with the game pre-installed!

5. Since 2004, the IMGA Ceremony was held in Barcelona during GSMA’s Mobile World Congress. In March 2013 the IMGA moved to San Francisco, and will be there again to celebrate its 10th anniversary on March 18, 2014.

Posted in: News
Tagged With: Awards, Imga, IMGA awards, 10th IMGA
Share This: